Yesterday, Today, & FOREVER The King of Pop

Sony/ATV Named ASCAP’s Pop Publisher Of The Year

For the first time in company history,
Sony/ATV (Michael Jackson) Music Publishing was
awarded ASCAP’s Pop Publisher of the Year (along with EMI Music
Publishing) at the ASCAP Pop Music Awards, held in Los Angeles on April
22nd, 2009.

In addition to its 20 award-winning songs, Martin Bandier and the
entire Sony/ATV family congratulates its writers Mikkel Eriksen of
Stargate for winning the ASCAP Songwriter of the Year award and Wyclef
Jean for winning the ASCAP Creative Voice of Music award.

Sony/ATV Named ASCAP’s Pop Publisher Of The Year

EMI, Sony/ATV Win Big At ASAP Pop Music Awards
By Ed Christman, N.Y

Stargate’s Mikkel Eriksen and Tor Hermansen were named
the songwriter of the year at the 26th Annual ASCAP Pop Music Awards,
held tonight (April 22) at the Renaissance Hollywood Hotel in
Hollywood. “Bleeding Love,” written by Jesse McCartney and Ryan Tedder,
was named song of the year. The song is a hit for Leona Lewis.

The publisher of the year award was presented to both
EMI Music Publishing and Sony/ATV Music Publishing, as both companies
tied with 20 award-winning songs each.

Stargate, which also won the ASCAP songwriter of the
year award in 2007, is responsible for penning six of the most
performed songs of the past year: Chris Brown’s “With You,” Ne-Yo‘s
“Closer” and “Miss Independent,” Rihanna’s “Don’t Stop the Music” and
“Take a Bow,” and Jordin Sparks‘ “Tattoo.”

The top five most performed songs of 2008 were
“Apologize,” written by Tedder; “Bleeding Love,” written by McCartney
and Tedder; “Love Song,” written by Sara Bareilles; “Low,” written by
Flo-Rida; and “No One,” written by Kerry “Krucial” Brothers, DJ Dirty
Harry and Alicia Keys.

Many of the last night’s winning songwriters were on
hand to collect their awards, according to a press release, including
multiple winners Lukasz “Dr. Luke” Gottwald, who received four awards;
Terius “The Dream” Nash, Christopher “Tricky” Stewart and Tedder, who
collected three awards each; Brothers, Stacy “Fergie” Ferguson, Andre
Merritt, Jason Reeves, and Brian Kennedy Seals, who won two awards
each; and Jimmy Jam, who won for “Bust It Baby (Part 2);” Quincy Jones
for “Good Life;” Kardinal Offishall for “Dangerous;” Johntá Austin for
“With You;” and Webbie for “Independent.”

Downtown Music Publishing artist Santi White (aka
Santigold) was honored with ASCAP’s vanguard award, which recognizes
the impact of musical genres that help shape the future of American

Ann and Nancy Wilson of Heart were presented with
ASCAP’s Founders Award, which is given to songwriters who have made
pioneering contribution to music and are considered influential.

Wyclef Jean was presented with ASCAP’s creative voice
award, which is a way to honor an ASCAP member or group whose
significant career achievements are equally informed by their creative
spirit and by their contributions to the role that a creator can play
in their community. Wyclef founded Yéle Haiti in 2005 to provide aid
and assistance to his native country of Haiti.

The complete list of winners is available at


Google News

What They Don’t Want You to Know About Michael Jackson


Comments are closed.